Learn more about Y‑12 by reading our press releases, The Y-12 Times, or The Y-12 Report. You can also contact us through Public Affairs, the primary contact between Y‑12 and the news media, the community and the public. For general information, visit About Y‑12.

Latest News

  • Monday, August 13, 2012, 4:00 pm

    B&W awards college scholarship to local student

    Knoxville student Rob Jones has been awarded a college scholarship by the Babcock and Wilcox Company (B&W). Worth $1,500 per year for up to four years of college-level study, the scholarship is one of 12 awarded annually to students whose parents work in B&W’s offices, including sites in Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and Ontario, Canada.

  • Wednesday, July 25, 2012, 3:45 pm

    Y-12 Fire Protection Operations has new chief

    J. Scott Vowell was recently appointed chief of Fire Protection Operations at the Y‑12 National Security Complex.

  • Wednesday, July 18, 2012, 3:48 pm

    Y-12 honors companies, advocates for small-business success

    The Y‑12 National Security Complex honored six small businesses for their exceptional contributions to Y‑12’s missions during Fiscal Year 2011 at the annual Socioeconomic Programs Awards reception held Thursday, July 12.

  • Thursday, June 28, 2012, 4:30 pm

    World Institute for Nuclear Security Workshop at Y‑12 Brings Together More than 20 Countries

    This week, more than 20 countries are represented at the first-ever workshop conducted in the United States at the Y‑12 National Security Complex for the World Institute for Nuclear Security (WINS). The workshop is jointly sponsored by the National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA) and the Department of Defense (DoD).

  • Wednesday, June 27, 2012, 9:38 am

    Y‑12 earns communications honors

    The Y‑12 National Security Complex received multiple communications awards during two recent events. At the annual V Awards gala held by the Volunteer Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America, Y‑12 products received nine awards, including four first-place honors.