NNSA recognizes Knight's service to Nuclear Materials Management Team

Posted: August 13, 2015 - 3:38pm

The National Nuclear Security Administration presented CNS employee Teresa Knight with a special award in recognition of her outstanding service to the Department of Energy’s Nuclear Materials Management Team.

Knight began co‐chairing the team in 2005 when the NMMT was in its infancy. The team of NNSA federal and contractor nuclear material managers develops strategies for managing, funding, consolidating and dispositioning nuclear materials across the DOE complex.

The award was presented at the Nuclear Materials Management and Safeguards System 2015 Annual Users Training Meeting held in May in Las Vegas.

Knight was recognized for her leadership, initiative and dedication to the NMMT during her 10 years as co‐chair. She was credited for “creating an environment for innovative solutions to complex material management challenges have greatly benefited the NNSA and DOE” and for contributions that “reflect the highest standards of quality and professionalism.”

Becky Eddy, of the NNSA Production Office, served as NMMT co‐chair with Knight. Eddy said, “Soon after Teresa joined the Nuclear Materials Management community, it became clear to me she was a woman with vision. She worked hard to make improvements in the nuclear material management processes and relationships that benefited nuclear material managers and organizations across the DOE complex. Her contributions to the team will be long lasting.”

Knight’s accomplishments include leading a two‐year effort to revise an outdated DOE nuclear materials management order, which resulted in the issuance of DOE Order 410.2, Management of Nuclear Materials, and developing training modules and supplemental guidance documents to assist sites across the DOE complex in meeting the requirements of the new order.

She is leaving her position on the team to begin a new assignment as senior program manager with the CNS Enterprise Risk Management organization. Brad Patton of Oak Ridge National Laboratory will assume her position as co‐chair on the NMMT, and Brennan Thompson will fill the CNS opening on the team.